Media Release

Alberta Party well represented in successful municipal elections

October 22, 2013

Seven candidates with strong Alberta Party ties were successful in last night's municipal elections, and several campaigns had key Alberta Party organizers at the helm.

2012 Alberta Party provincial election candidates Michael Walters (Edmonton Ward 10) and Tim Osborne (St. Albert), past Alberta Party board members Esme Comfort (Canmore) and Bill Sears (Camrose), past Alberta Party staff member Carla Howatt (Strathcona County Ward 4), Innisfail-Sylvan Lake Alberta Party Constituency Association president Sharolyn Sanchez (Penhold) and prominent Alberta Party member Trina Hurdman (Calgary Public School Board Wards 6 and 7) were all elected last night.

"I couldn't be more proud," said Alberta Party leader Greg Clark. "Their electoral success shows that Albertans want transparent, open government. These are Albertan values and they're Alberta Party values."

Several other 2013 municipal election candidates also ran strong campaigns, including past candidates Chinwe Okelu (Edmonton Ward 12), Tony Jeglum (Lacombe County) and Serge Gingras (Red Deer), and current Alberta Party board member Gil Poitras (Beaumont).

Many key Alberta Party organizers worked behind the scenes on various campaigns, most notably with successful Calgary Ward 8 candidate Evan Woolley and Calgary Mayor Naheed Nenshi.

"Alberta is changing," said Clark. "Albertans elected more young mayors and councillors in 2013 than ever before; from Evan Woolley in Calgary to Sean McIntyre in Sylvan Lake to Don Iveson in Edmonton to Lisa Holmes in Morinville and many more.

"There's a new energy and new spirit in municipal politics, and Albertans want the same thing at the provincial level," said Clark. "I’m confident the Alberta Party represents the same trend."


For further information please contact:

Robbie Kreger-Smith, Communications Chair

Digital presence by Stafraen Digital  •  Created with NationBuilder